HomeSchoolsColumbusFirst Grade
Michele Nesbitt
Melanie Maikisch

Michele Nesbitt

michele.nesbitt@lodi.k12.nj.us

Melanie Maikisch

melanie.maikisch@lodi.k12.nj.us

First Grade is such an exciting time!  The students have finished reviewing the short vowels and have now moved onto long vowels.  They have also started reading in their Carden Readers.  Remember to keep reading with your child every night to improve their oral reading and their vocabulary.  reviewing their sight words and sounds will also help them become better readers.

The student are also working at becoming better writers.  They are encouraged to sound words out in the journals when writing and to try their best.  They are learning about sentences and have begun creating their own.  This skill will be worked on all year long!

In Math, the students have learned how to add and are now moving onto subtracting.  Please encourage your children to practice these facts at home.  You can do this with store-bought or homemade flashcards.

 

Columbus School Resources

Upcoming Dates

Nov
7

Tuesday, November 07

Nov
9

Thursday, November 09 - Friday, November 10

Nov
22

Wednesday, November 22

Nov
23

Thursday, November 23 - Friday, November 24

Dec
22

Friday, December 22

Dec
25

Monday, December 25 - Monday, January 01

Jan
15

Monday, January 15

Feb
19

Monday, February 19 - Friday, February 23

Mar
30

Friday, March 30

Apr
9

Monday, April 09 - Friday, April 13

First Grade News

Please click here to see the First Grade supply list for the upcoming school year.