HomeSchoolsRooseveltFifth Grade
Helena Elmo

Helena Elmo

helena.elmo@lodi.k12.nj.us

Click here for Ms. Tempio's webpage...

The fifth grade Language Arts curriculum uses differentiated instruction techniques to prepare students for the NJASK assessment and enhance the students’ overall reading, writing, and comprehension skills.  Language Arts includes the disciplines of Reading, Writing and Spelling.  Students in the fifth grade will also read several novels as a class throughout the year in order to further develop a life-long love of reading.

The Math curriculum in the fifth grade addresses New Jersey’s Core Curriculum Content Standards.  Differentiated instruction in the form of math manipulatives and leveled group work will be exercised in this area.   Topics included in 5th grade mathematics are fractions, decimals, geometry, probability, algebra, and open-ended problem solving. NJASK preparation is also an important aspect of Mathematics in grade five.

The Science curriculum includes hands on experiments to enforce the concepts taught aligned with the New Jersey standards in Science.  Throughout fifth grade we will cover Life and Physical Sciences as well as studies in Earth and Space.

Social Studies curriculum in fifth grade is introduced with geography and covers America’s history from the Native Americans to the American Revolution.  The Social Studies curriculum is very interactive and allows students to use their multiple intelligences and directly relate to America’s past.

 

Upcoming Dates

Oct
7

Friday, October 07

Nov
8

Tuesday, November 08

Nov
10

Thursday, November 10 - Friday, November 11

Nov
23

Wednesday, November 23

Nov
24

Thursday, November 24 - Friday, November 25

Dec
23

Friday, December 23

Dec
26

Monday, December 26 - Friday, December 30

Jan
16

Monday, January 16

Feb
20

Monday, February 20 - Friday, February 24

Apr
14

Friday, April 14 - Friday, April 21

Fifth Grade News