HomeSchoolsWilsonFirst Grade
Victoria Santos
Shana Foster

Victoria Santos

victoria.santos@lodi.k12.nj.us

Shana Foster

shana.foster@lodi.k12.nj.us

Victoria Guido
Kimberly Scirocco

Victoria Guido

victoria.guido@lodi.k12.nj.us

Kimberly Scirocco

kimberly.scirocco@lodi.k12.nj.us

First Grade is an exciting time for students and is also a big transitional year.  Students are happy to have their own desk and be more independent.  It is a time to master short and long vowel sounds and to work on word attack skills.  Students learn 37 blends and digraphs and 52 variant sounds.  It is important to foster a love of reading, and students should be encouraged to read for enjoyment.  The development of writing skills is also very crucial.  The students learn to use inventive spelling and creativity when writing.  In mathematics students master addition and subtraction facts to twenty and touch upon regrouping.  They also work on problem solving skills.  First grade is an important grade level and is the basis of a child’s education which gives them their love for learning.

 

Upcoming Dates

Dec
23

Friday, December 23

Dec
26

Monday, December 26 - Friday, December 30

Jan
16

Monday, January 16

Feb
20

Monday, February 20 - Friday, February 24

Apr
14

Friday, April 14 - Friday, April 21

May
29

Monday, May 29

Jun
6

Tuesday, June 06

Jun
14

Wednesday, June 14 - Tuesday, June 20

Jun
20

Tuesday, June 20