HomeSchoolsWilsonSecond Grade
Christena Williams
Jacqueline Serek

Christena Williams

christena.williams@lodi.k12.nj.us

Jacqueline Serek

jacqueline.serek@lodi.k12.nj.us

Christine Bruin
Shana Foster

Christine Bruin

christine.bruin@lodi.k12.nj.us

Shana Foster

shana.foster@lodi.k12.nj.us

Second grade is a very rewarding year for students.  The biggest change you will see in your second grade child is in the development and improvement in their writing skills.  Students will begin to write paragraphs with appropriate grammar and word usage.    They will also improve their writing by learning about the different parts of speech; including nouns, verbs, adjectives, adverbs, pronouns.  They will also begin to expand on their sentence writing in order to create detailed sentences.  In math, students will be challenged to regroup three digit numbers for addition and subtraction.  They will also be introduced to the place value to 1,000.  Another concept that our second grade students will learn about is the concept of money, making change with coins and dollars, and telling time to the nearest five minutes.  Students will learn about plane and solid figures in geometry, they will learn to classify shapes based upon their sides, edges and vertices.  In reading, they will be exposed to a variety of different types of literature.  Students will be encouraged to read chapter books on their own, during D.E.A.R (Drop Everything and Read) time.   One of the highlights of the second grade year is the Dinosaur Fair, where they can expand their knowledge and understanding of dinosaurs and pretend to be paleontologists for the day.  They will also learn in science about weather, matter, and life cycles.    Students will be able to work cooperatively in small groups to create a finished project.  These activities help prepare your child for the transition to third grade.

 

Upcoming Dates

Dec
23

Friday, December 23

Dec
26

Monday, December 26 - Friday, December 30

Jan
16

Monday, January 16

Feb
20

Monday, February 20 - Friday, February 24

Apr
14

Friday, April 14 - Friday, April 21

May
29

Monday, May 29

Jun
6

Tuesday, June 06

Jun
14

Wednesday, June 14 - Tuesday, June 20

Jun
20

Tuesday, June 20